Some people think that organizing international sports events is good for the host country while others think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over the essence of international sports events. While some hold a strong view that organizing international sports events brings a tremendous benefit for the host nations, the opposite makes a statement that it acts as a disturbance. While the latter is valid to some extent, I consider myself an advocate of the former. Without a shadow of a doubt, it is necessary to note that holding international sporting events will bring a positive impact on the holders. Mega events generate a huge number of job prospects for local residents and bring economic benefits for the host nations. For example, in Viet Nam, during Sea Games 22, host nations witness a dramatical job opportunity especially in traveling, hotel and catering services. Hence, inhabitants in Viet Nam can have a lot of jobs and gain amounts of income from carrying out international sporting competitions. While the positive influence of international sports events is widely acknowledged, its drawback still lingers. Hosting world-class events can pose a great threat to the organizers on account of financial burdens. The government has to spend an immense amount of money constructing new facilities which may have an adverse bearing on their economy. For example, when organizing the 2020 Olympics, Japan invested a great deal of money in constructing infrastructure and stadiums but after serving the event they are not reused. Therefore, holding global competitions makes holders stay in a difficult position for a while. In conclusion, economic growth and job prospects can be seen from organizing sports events. However, the expense in building infrastructure and stadiums should be taken into consideration.