Nowadays many people choose to be self- employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why it might be the case? What could be the disadvantages if being self-employed?

It has become common these days for people to opt to be self employed than to work for others. This essay will look at some reasons why this happens and a few disadvantages that comes with self -employment. To begin with, there a number of reasons why some people choose to do their own work. Firstly, they desire to be managers from the onset. It is common to start off low in companies as before one joins, there already will be existing employees. So it will not be surprising for a person to work as a junior from the onset. This means taking instructions from seniors and also obliging with company rules. Meanwhile, people who desire to be managers will like to take decisions and run things by themselves and in their own comfortable time without being subjected to some laid down rules and regulations of a firm. The plausible way to achieve this, is people running their own businesses so the can do as they please. Some of the drawbacks that comes with working for self are mainly low capital and. Most private businesses commonly do not have the means to involve experts in their establishments. They try to do all the thinking and manuveuring by themselves or even hire cheap labour for the job. By so doing they may not earn much in their endeavours to talk of making profits. Unfortunately, businesses are competitive and consumers appreciate quality. Hence, customers will channel their monies to ones offering excellent services and these are mostly the public firms. To add to this, most employees at private sectors hop from one job to the next because they are not well paid. This is because owners of private institutions are very self centered and keep huge portions of profits made to themselves whilst giving very little to their workers as salaries. These workers do a lot of work and get very little. Over a period they come to the realization that they are not satisfied with their earnings and leave. To sum up, self employment has become common nowadays but it comes with some disadvantages.