Some people think increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What measures do you think might be effective?

To reduce problems such as traffic and pollution, people believe increasing the petrol price is one of the best solutions. I trust that this explanation alone is not an ideal way, therefore, I will provide other explanations. First of all, increasing the fuel fee will not impact to solve the real quick fix. It is because this answer could lead to higher transportation costs and majorities may not be happy as commodities prices will increase as the effect of higher transportation cost. This will also impact to their daily lives which could lead to protests. Therefore, this idea is not a good solution. On the other hand, other viable solutions can also be implemented by the government. For example, authorities should encourage to use car share to lower traffic and lower fuel consumption. In addition to this, it is also important to provide reliable and affordable public transport systems such as trains and buses. If people were using more on public transport system, fewer people would be on the road. Moreover, the government should encourage the public to use bicycles, especially in most traffic congested areas. This will help to reduce traffic flow and reduce the use of fuel. In addition, increasing tax on car users is also another solution to reduce the traffic and pollution issues although some people may not agree with it. Therefore, it is now clear that alternative answers are also available to tackle the problems of traffic flow and higher pollution. To sum up, higher traffic and pollution problems are considered as a big issue, and increasing the fuel price to end this mess may not be one of the best answers, therefore, the government should find the possible answers which are aligned with the public opinion prior to implementation. They should also find these solutions that are both viable and realistic.