Salary should be the most important consideration when choosing a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is still no consensus on whether salary should be the most important consideration when choosing a job. Although salaries could bring a lot of benefits to employees, I disagree with the proposal and I do believe that there are some external factors that need to be taken into consideration. There are many reasons why incomes should be prioritised. Firstly, workers are living under greater financial burdens and they struggle to make a living. For example, the youth who work in megapolises need to pay for their bills including housing, healthcare, transportation and even mortgage for their houses, which forces them to earn more money. Additionally, receiving higher incomes through their labour would pave a better way for their career planning. They can spend the money on developing their interests and improving their professional skills, ensuring their better development in the future. Besides, generally speaking, those people who receive better wages are usually considered to be more capable and more respected compared with those who earn less money. Finally, more savings further enhance their ability to resist potential risks in the future. Take the outbreak of COVID-19 taking place in these years as an example, millions of employees lost their jobs and were unemployed. Under such circumstances, a decent deposit might ensure their stability during the unstable period. However, many external factors should not be ignored. To begin with, these future employees should choose an occupation that aligns with their interests, which is important in fostering their enthusiasm and strengthening their motivation towards their work in the whole life. Furthermore, they also need to consider whether the career they devote to belongs to a sunrise industry because the general trend of the market can predict their future to a large extent. For instance, some professions including AI-based engineers are usually more promising although their wages are not that attractive in the short term compared with those jobs with higher wages that belong to the sunset industry. In addition, the time spent commuting to and from their work needs equal attention. For some people who are reluctant to work far away from their homelands, they need to consider the distance between their workplaces and their homes. Lastly, the atmosphere in their offices needs to be considered. If they have a supportive leader and friendly colleagues, they might be more likely to be satisfied in this job. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why individuals tip the balance in favour of choosing a job with higher wages, but focusing solely on their incomes cannot guarantee their overall sense of well-being in the long term. Therefore, I would argue that they should take other characteristics such as their interests, their career planning, the prospect of the career and the distance between their workplaces and their homes into consideration.