car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. how to do you think this statement is? what measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

The number of personal vehicles is increasing day by day and due to that trend there are new issues such as traffic congestion in main towns. To be honest, I also agree with this statement and hope to discuss more not only about the matter but also about the measures that can be taken by the states. Firstly, people seek to have a comfortable lifestyle and they are always struggling to earn more money which is needed to make their dream life pattern a true. Therefore, no need to be surprised regarding the increasing number of car owners around the world. But the matter is rapid increase in vehicle count lead to creating other social and environmental problems such as traffic jams, air pollution, sound pollution, increasing road traffic accidents etc. Research found that during covid-19 epidemic traffic congessions congestions, accidents, environmental pollution have reduced dramatically and that means fewer vehicles on roads is the main solution for a few current issues throughout the world. Secondly, governments are the onus to lead the community in a proper pathway to reduce the usage of private cars by influencing to use public transportation instead of it. To do so, states should facilitate comfortable public vehicles such as busses, trains, mono rails etc. Authorities have to introduce strict time schedules and enough vehicles for each system and by these people are able to minimize their time wastage. States have to consider the fair for transport facilities and fair should be fair as much as possible. Authorities have the responsibility of announcing the bad effects of using too many vehicles and can encourage them to have comfortable rides for a reasonable payment. Once I went to Malaysia and I saw there were different kinds of public transport systems and mono rails were the most common way. Most of the engineers, doctors and other well-paid workers also use this facility as it is fast, cheap and highly available throughout the day. I talked with a few of them and even though they have personal cars, they were interested in using them as they were able to enjoy the ride and never felt it as a burden. To sum up, that's really true, rapidly increasing number of vehicles is the main matter of traffic jams and however, governments can take measures to reduce them by promoting public vehicles.