Some people believe that culture will be ruined if it is used to earn tourism revenue, but others consider that tourism is the only way of protecting nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that local customs will be wrecked if it depends too much on the income of tourism. However, there is another group of people who hold the view that the vacation industry is the vital solution of preserving nature. Both opinions have their own rationality, but this essay agrees that tourism is the best way of inoculating wildlife and will give some facts based on its decision. There can be no doubt that holiday businesses have a harmful effect on local customs. One of the factors can be the destruction of the native heritage there. Excessive, poorly planned or unmonitored tourism activities and development projects can impose unacceptable levels of change on the physical characteristics, integrity, ecology and biodiversity of the place, local access and transportation systems and the social, economic and cultural well-being of the host community. Moreover, it can increase the percentages of crime and gambling there. The presence of a large number of tourists with a lot of money to spend and often carrying valuables such as cameras and jewellery increases the attraction for criminals and brings with it activities like robbery and drug dealing. For instance, gambling is a common occurrence as a result of tourism. Growth of casinos and other gambling facilities can encourage not only the tourists to part with their cash, but also the local population. On the contrary of it, there is a number of people who think that many sightseeing activities can also bring benefits such as protecting nature. They can raise the awareness of the wildlife. When you really get to experience something firsthand, see it, touch it, and see what is threatening to destroy it, that is when you learn best. You may learn about the values that natural regions have for life by visiting them yourself. We start to care for them since you have the opportunity to experience their unique sensation. Additionally, the memories you create will motivate you to travel sustainably and practice environmental responsibility in general. The writer of this essay advocates that we should look at the benefits the tourism. Because going sightseeing is the main reason they started to spend money visiting new things. When they see the disastrous effect on the people and influence other individuals to keep the environment safe. For example, in January 2021, alarming pictures of the most touristy beaches in Bali buried in plastic waste that washed up on the shore due to the monsoon weather appeared on the social media of travellers and in the news. The images have drawn global attention and created a bad rep for single-use plastic items, making us more aware of the true impact. To conclude, there are many social impacts of tourism. Whilst some impacts are positive, most unfortunately are negative impacts. Thus, this essay has demonstrated that tourism should be looked at in a more positive view because it can protect the people and the landscapes there safely.