Today many buildings such as offices and schools have an open-plan design (no walls between areas for different activities) instead of separate rooms. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays it is common to see school buildings and offices with no separating walls but rather rooms. This essay will look at some reasons for this and the advantages it comes with. To begin with, putting up structures is costly these days. The price of cement and lands are pricey. Primarily, one of the main reason for not putting up walls as a means of demarcation is to conserve space. This is because walls consume some land, meanwhile such spaces could be utilized for other purposes of construction rather than building walls. Another factor is saving money. Putting up a wall requires concrete. In Ghana for example, the price of cement is a fortune. So authorities will rather save that money for another project than to just construct a separating wall. As already highlighted, there are some benefits to this. These are preserving lands and judicious spending. The lands that will otherwise have been used to build walls can serve as a source of garden. This will create job opportunities for people who will tend such gardens. Also, judicious money spending stems from not investing in cement to put up walls which wouldn't make much of a difference in the function of the structure as curtains can equally do these demarcations. The money saved can be used in the health sector and subsidize tuition fees for education. To sum up, the common practice of not putting up separating walls in buildings such as schools and offices is a means of saving space and cost.