Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give your opinion

To begin with, versatility is one main reason why some undergraduates desire to study other courses in addition to their main program. I can understand them as having information over a wide coverage is advantageous. Meanwhile, tertiary institutions allow students to choose programs of their choice which they are subsequently offered when they qualify. University education is time bound and very involving. Most curriculum requires more years than the convential capped four years for most programs. Therefore, if students are made to read other subjects than what they freely chose to pursue, they will only be burdened and may not have enough time to study their main program. The fearful outcome of such will be graduating with poor grades. This will defeat their aim of choosing to study their main course. I will say even if taking up other programs will be considered, it should be made optional so that learners who think they are skilled at time management can take up other subjects. On the other hand, the sole aim of studying a university program is to acquire a certificate for employment. In view of this, I can understand why people say it's necessary for undergraduates to focus all their time and energy into understanding and learning their main program. The knowledge acquired at this level will be needed in their future career. Moreover, most employers will be moved by graduates with very good results and such people will readily get jobs compared to their mates who perform poorly. In my opinion, there is time for everything and people can still study other courses they wish to know more about later after their schooling. Therefore, I agree students use their whole time to study their chosen subject. To sum up, acquiring a job after graduation is essential, hence, I think undergraduates should be encouraged to focus on their primary program for excellent qualification.