Overpopulation is the world’s most serious environmental problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the development of society, the population of the world is increasing. Nowadays, an issue that has fuelled a heated debate is whether overpopulation is the world ’s most serious environmental problem or not. I strongly agree with the above-mentioned statement. In this essay, I will discuss the impact of overpopulation on resource consumption and air pollution. Firstly, overpopulation can lead to over-exploitation of resources, this is because the more population, the more resources need to be consumed. For instance, according to Chinese government research, many areas in northern China have become deserts due to excessive deforestation, resulting in environmental pollution. Moreover, many medicinal materials will vanish from the world. Hence, over-exploitation of resources due to population will affect the world environment. Secondly,Carbon dioxide also affects the air. For example according to Harvard University research, excessive emissions of carbon dioxide will damage the atmosphere and lead to global warming. Moreover, global warming will cause the sea level to rise and many small islands will be submerged by the sea. Thus, overpopulation will lead to environmental problems.  In conclusion, whether overpopulation is the main cause of the destruction of the earth's environment still needs to be studied. I strongly agree that is the main cause. With the development of society, the population of the world will be increasing in the future.