Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, ther people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many people believe that completing higher education at a university is the key to getting a job in this competitive era whereas others believe that it is essential to have prior experience and soft skills. I believe that both academic qualifications and some experience along with soft skills are very important to secure good jobs. On the one hand, there are many jobs like research and development, software engineering, teaching, etc. where academic knowledge is required, and the organizations prefer to invite only those candidates who have completed their university education and have secured good ranks. For instance, as per the survey results published by the Times of India, 80% of entry-level employees are hired by multinational companies through campus placements from different colleges. Therefore, it is important to complete graduation to get good jobs. On the other hand, there are numerous career opportunities like sales and marketing, customer handling, etc. where prior work experience and interpersonal capabilities play a vital role for the employees to accomplish their roles and responsibilities. For example, it may be challenging for an employee to handle customers’ queries without having industry-specific problem-solving and listening skills. Unlike technical knowledge, soft skills are helpful in all kinds of industries and very much required. To conclude, both interpersonal qualities and academic knowledge are essential for a person to secure a better career opportunity. Therefore, governments should make soft skills compulsory as part of academic sessions and institutions should focus on providing industry-specific training during the final years of the course so that students can get some prior knowledge.