Nowadays, more people would rather purchase food than cook at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

These days, increasing number of individuals resort to buying meals from the outside rather than cooking themselves at their home. People pursue this trend due to the convenience and flexibility offered by such practice. However, the drawbacks of excessive expenditure on food and health side effects are hard to ignore. Firstly, the advantageous nature of the convenience offered when purchasing food from outside is hard to dismiss. People increasingly, for instance, do food take-outs or buy pre-cooked meals in order to keep-up with the fast-paced lifestyle with sparingly little time available for themselves. Secondly, buying ready-to-eat food saves considerable amount of time cooking and doing dishes, which can in turn be productively used for other higher priority tasks on-hand. Thirdly, buying meals from restaurants gives an inherent flexibility of trying different cuisines, which otherwise would not have been possible by cooking all food ourselves due to limited culinary skillsets. On the other hand, one major problem with such a developing trend is the excessive expenditure on the purchased meals. Younger generations, are increasingly relying to buy cooked meals, eventually hitting hard on the savings and stressing them financially. Additionally, in the long run, such practice of eating junk food in the form of fast- food and ready-to-go meals have severe consequences on health of an individuals. For example, in developed countries, obesity and diabetes have proven to be the prime outcomes of such practices due to the absence of required nutritional elements. In conclusion, although the positive aspects of freedom to choose and eat whatever we like in today’s fast-moving world rests at our disposal, on the contrary, disadvantageous nature of health side effects in the form of diseases and reduction in savings cannot be forgotten.