Some people claim that the media is unnecessarily biased. What are the reasons for this bias? What can be done about it?

Media is vital in our society. Information such as policies, the economy, and climate change is apparently shown in the media in different ways. This essay will explore why media is biased in some cases and provide what can be tackled. First of all, the media sometimes shows things in a negative way. Take political issues as an example; politicians may often use the media as a tool to attack their opponents. As a result of this, people may not be united and it can cause instability. Likewise, the media may often spread fake news. For instance, claiming that eating bananas may cure the coronavirus quickly. This will provide people with wrong information, which could lead to harm if people follow it. Therefore, people need to be aware of negative news from the media. On the other hand, there are ways to solve the above problems. Governments should enforce laws to regulate the media without limiting the freedom of the press. For example, they should impose fines on those spreading the wrong message to the viewers. Moreover, the public should also take action by scrutinizing biased news and providing clarifications whenever possible. On top of that, non-governmental organizations should conduct media awareness campaigns, especially focusing on the right news and teaching the public how to choose the right one. With these solutions, people will gain enough knowledge about the information they receive from the media. To sum up, it is undeniable that we are living in the age of media and we cannot ignore the fact that obtaining the right information is important to our societies. The government, the public, and the media should work together to provide the right information to the public.