Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Now, in this global era, it seems to be really true that people increasingly need to move to many places. It means they will require more transports to respond their moving demand. Therefore, it is widely argued that government should spend money on railways rather than roads. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement. There are some reasons to explain for this idea. First of all, some prefer roadways to railways because they are more convenient and comfortable, people can drive themselves rather than depending on other drivers. Secondly, they can travel flexibly when they are in emergency situations or they go to many destinations where there are no trains. Thirdly, people who travel by train have to follow a schedule and if they miss the timetable, they have to wait for the other train. On the other hand, there is not denying that moving by public transport, especially railways also give us some advantages. First of all, trains faster as well as eco - friendly in comparison to vehicles. Furthermore, they help to reduce the effect of greenhouse gas which goes into the atmosphere. Besides, people will not meet the issue is that they get stucked in the traffic jams. In conclusion, I tend to think that there are plenty of solutions, as long as people choose the most suitable solution for their issues. Because I believe that each transport will has own advantages and disadvantages.