In many cities, the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Our individual freedom has been restricted due to the increase in the use of video cameras in public locations in order to reduce crime. I am in support of using video cameras as a security facility to reduce crimes; the benefits of these measures perfectly outweigh the drawbacks. I will discuss different aspects of using video cameras as tools for monitoring critical crimes such as murder and mugging. Firstly, murder is one of the most important crimes around the world. Therefore, citizens of some countries may be in danger. For instance, people in Brazil suffer from a lack of safety due to the enormous number of criminals; most of them have anxiety because they are always stressed about their lives. A possible solution to this problem would be using video cameras. Therefore, the advantage of establishing video cameras by the governments in order to protect their people's lives meaningfully outweighs the restriction of their freedom. Secondly, mugging is another crucial crime. A vital need of people is to feel protected while they are transported to another place which can be under the threat of criminals. For example, Although school students, women and other citizens know the dangers, they do not have enough physical power to protect themselves and may be in danger of snatching or mugging. When it is about mugging, actually, their lives are in danger. So, there should be some monitoring devices to prevent these crimes. To summarize, in my opinion, the benefits of establishing video cameras as reduction tools of crimes, greatly outweigh the drawbacks which I have discussed. Murder and mugging are two of the most important crimes which threaten human lives; so, that would be great if they were restricted through control devices such as video cameras.