Many people believe that it’s better to learn something in a group rather than individually. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that group learning is more beneficial and effective as compared to learning alone. I strongly agree with this view. First of all, group learning brings together individuals from various backgrounds and culture which allows them to freely share ideas, thought and knowledge. Learning in a group builds the confidence of the individuals, helps them to be outspoken and boosts their self-esteem. Being in a group also has the benefit of diversity of views and brainstorming ideas together which makes studying faster and quick comprehension. For example, for a group project each team member will share different ideas, endowed with unique skills, some may be apt at critical thinking, while others at creative thinking, thus yielding good work performance. Furthermore, group learning fosters teamwork experience, and it is time efficient. When tasks are equally divided, each individual works to carry out their given task, thus saving time and energy. However, there are drawbacks to this method of learning. There is unequal participation among students. For instance, students who are introverted will find it difficult to have conversations with other group members and will lack motivation to participate fully in group activities. Also, they tend to procrastinate and hide behind those who are hardworking. Students are at risk of procrastinating and are less likely to be held accountable for not duly carrying out required tasks. In conclusion, group learning is still a very effective method of teaching even though, there are some negative effects to it. Each individual is different, more practical methods can be put in place to accommodate students and their differences.