Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, educational complexes place a premium on teaching students the English Language at the expense of their national mother tongue. It is of concern, that not teaching the local languages will make these fade out. In my opinion, I agree that teaching everyone the English Language is the right step, however, teaching institutions should incorporate the local dialects in the school's curriculum. To begin with, the world has become a global village. Most nations including well-developed Western countries where lots of inventions take place have English as their first language. For instance, the operating systems of most software on our modern digital phones and computers are labelled and run in English language. It has become common for people around the world to share information ranging from education, meal recipes and fashion trends on social media platforms in the English language. People are constantly evolving through such information and the outcome of this is non- English speaking nationals missing out on very important information and also being left out of enjoying innovative brands. Despite the aforementioned reason, I reckon it necessary to work on maintaining our local dialects as a means of conserving the cultural identity of a society. People will naturally garner towards others who speak a common language as them. To illustrate this, immigration is common and most immigrant parents are struggling to inculcate their cultural origins into their offspring. These children travel back to their roots only to be seen as strangers in the name of their not being able to talk to the locals of their countries. As many countries are getting closer because of globalization, it is still important for us to maintain our uniqueness as people. The main way a society can preserve its dialect is through teaching the wards at schools and encouraging parents to speak their original local language with their kids at home. Children are fast learners and when they are made to learn this from childhood, they are likely to know how to communicate in their local languages. To sum up, I opine everybody is taught to speak English to make life easier in this modern world, whereas our children are also made to learn the language of society as a compulsory subject.