what is the causes and effects of water pollution? what are the solutions?

Water pollution is a matter of great concern in our Modern world. The main causes are indiscriminate disposal of rubbish and illegal mining. Consequently, people are deprived of clean drinking water, whereas fish tend to migrate to other sources of water. The way out of this ordeal is governmental laws that will penalise the perpetrators and also provide teaching to the members of society. To begin with, dumping rubbish into water bodies and illegal mining are primarily the main culprits of water pollution. To illustrate this, there have been documentaries about the muddy state of various water bodies at Obuasi, a mining community in Ghana. The miners wash the dug clay in these water bodies to sieve out the gold and end up discolouring the water. Similarly, most village folks in Ghana bathe, ease themselves and dispose of litter in flowing rivers. Interestingly, those who do such deeds are of the notion the dirt will be washed away. Sadly, reality dawns on them only when irreversible damage is caused. It is clear these acts compromise the quality of these sources of water. As a result of the aforementioned causes, these people are deprived of portable drinking water. For instance, it is not surprising most waterborne diseases in Ghana are common among our village folks. They are left with no choice but to drink, cook and wash from the same water source that has been contaminated. Another consequence is disturbing the number of living creatures in these aquatic environments. Some of the fish either die or migrate to other relatively safer water bodies for survival. The resultant effect is the community losing out on the gains they once had from these fishes thus nutritional and commercial value. It is quite evident the negative impacts water pollution has on the community. Despite the problems and effects that arise with contaminating sources of water, plausible solutions to curtail these are governmental laws and education about the matter. Firstly, the government should create awareness of the human activities that render water bodies useless through media houses. And in addition to the awareness, make people aware violators of the information given will be brought to justice. Secondly, social amenities in villages such as toilet and bathing facilities should be developed so that people wouldn't have to go defecate in water bodies. Lastly, miners should acquire mining permits and should be educated on appropriate ways of acquiring minerals. These ways will definitely solve the problem at hand. To sum up, water pollution is mainly caused by human activities such as mining and inappropriate means of discarding rubbish. Losing aquatic life and brooding water -borne diseases are the main consequences. Meanwhile, the government can intervene by instituting laws and educational programs to combat this.