Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Lately, people are pivoting towards self-employment and owning a business rather than working for a company or corporation. I believe the reason for such development is mainly because of the freedom one gets to experience. However, like every coin has two sides, self-employment also has its disadvantages. Firstly, it does not give a stable source of income and secondly, the concept of pension wouldn' t work in such cases. On the one hand, people prefer being independent and free. Working in a 9-to-5 job does not give the freedom to explore other aspects of life. Moreover, many do not get paid well for the number of hours and tremendous effort they put in. For example, 70% of employees working in Alzet, a pharmaceutical company, aren' t satisfied with their current pay and believe they deserve better. On the other hand, self-employment isn' t a cup of tea for many. It requires people to have a lot of patience and mental strength. Importantly, the major drawback of being self-employed is the fact that one's income purely depends on how well their business runs. For instance, 20% of people who had start-ups in India went back to working for a company because they couldn' t make the bare minimum money needed for survival. Additionally, people who choose to be self-employed their whole life wouldn' t get the luxury of getting a pension once they retire. In conclusion, self-employment has its advantages and drawbacks. The advantages include independence and freedom, while it's disadvantageous in terms of financial stability and lack of pension.