In many places, teenagers are not following the rules and advice from their parents. Is it a good thing or bad thing?

It is commonly observed that some young people do not follow their parents ’ disciplines and recommendations in teenagerhood. In my view, we cannot simply define this case as being only beneficial or harmful to youth since it has both pros and cons. Details will be elaborated in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, teenagers can cultivate critical thinking on the substance if they do not follow the suggestions of their dads and moms. If they follow completely what their parents told them, they will not need to have independent thinking on objects. Vice versa, youngsters are required to develop their own perspectives on considering problems. Besides, it can limit children’s creativity and possibility if they stick to mom and dad’s words, because parents ’ suggestions are normally from their past experiences, and these experiences can be outdated and subjective. For example, in general, most parents will educate their middle school kids that entering university is the only way to succeed in their future. However, if all youth agree with this viewpoint, we will not be able to see that people become successful in other skilled areas such as hairdressers and electricians. On the other hand, it is better to listen to parents ’ words for youngsters. Firstly, parents ’ words can help youngsters avoid many difficulties in their adolescence. Most teenagers will face and overcome dramatic physical and mental changes due to the development of their bodies. If they are told the root causes of these changes by their parents and gain their parents ’ guidance to resolve issues, it will prevent them from committing crimes as a result of rebellion. Moreover, listening to the rules and recommendations of parents will support teenagers to have a positive study attitude in high school. Normally, moms and dads share their study experiences based on the lessons learned in the past, and these can influence high school students to be motivated to study. In conclusion, whether parents ’ rules and advice should be taken or not varies in different situations, it is impossible to give a direct answer as good or bad.