Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. College students hold different views on whether they should study fields beyond their main specialisation or focus their energy and headspace on mastering a specific proficiency. In my opinion, it is crucial for undergraduates to put their major courses as their first priority. On the one hand, universities typically offer thousands of subjects in various departments and allow their pupils to choose based on their interests. It is perfectly reasonable for students to enrol in elective courses or even pursue double degrees to hone different skills, since they may be useful to their major disciplines. Taking physical education as an example, it has been said that that kind of program in college is a waste of time, but the most well-known Ivy League schools were developed from athletic competitions and leagues. These prestigious universities prove that young people who excel in sports have the ability to demonstrate a high level of focus and attitude that leads to success in their academic and professional careers. On the other hand, learners should avoid being distracted by taking too many subjects and thereby failing to obtain a professional qualification. Taking supplementary classes could take up time that could otherwise be used to complete the requirements for their main field of study. Majors, such as medicine and architecture, require at least five years of hard work in many countries. If those who study in medical school try different things, they might begin to lose interest in their major field, become less invested in research or experimentation, and fail to gain expertise, which could raise concerns about the healthcare system being filled with unqualified doctors. In conclusion, while there is nothing fundamentally detrimental to taking a diverse range of courses and could actually be beneficial, I believe students should concentrate on their main subjects to ensure they are qualified upon graduation so that they can be well-prepared to face the cut-throat job market.