40.Some human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem while others think effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that several wild species are adversely influenced by human activities. Under such circumstances, some contend that it is pointless to address this issue because no solution will be effective, whereas others believe that people can still implement visible measures to overcome the problem. In this essay, both sides will be explored, followed by my opinion. On the one hand, the idea that there is nothing for humans to do to lessen their detrimental effects on the natural world is grounded in some valid points. The proponents of this perspective argue that numerous wild species have become extinct before human intervention. This is evident in how the dinosaurs were killed by an asteroid that attacked the Earth 65 million years ago, a long time before the presence of humans. In addition, many endangered creatures are predicted to vanish despite measures taken by people. This is because the food chains are negatively affected by the disappearance of vegetation and other animals in the ecosystem, causing a shortage of food and an unstoppable death of other organisms. On the other hand, I do believe that people can still implement some measures to improve the situation. Firstly, governments around the world have the power to enact and enforce laws and regulations aimed at protecting wild plants and animals and their habitats. For example, the Vietnamese government introduced laws on industrial waste management in 2001 to deter factories from discharging waste into rivers and oceans without proper waste treatment progress, thus successfully improving the water quality in industrial areas to protect aquatic species. Secondly, many conservation efforts have shown that it is still possible to protect and restore endangered animals and their habitats. Examples include the recovery of the bald eagle in the U.S. and giant panda habitats in China. In conclusion, while some damage is irreversible, it is not too late to take effective measures to improve the situation. Human actions are the primary factors contributing to the decline in wildlife animals and plants, it is our ethical and moral responsibility to deal with this matter. By implementing conservation efforts and enacting strong legislation, we can mitigate the issue and work towards a sustainable coexistence with the natural world. Although the challenges are immense, they are not unsurmountable and our future depends on our commitment to preserving biodiversity