Smoking is a habit that claims many lives and is a great drain on health services. One way to combat smoking would be to make it illegal. What are the pros and cons of such government policy? What alternative strategies can you suggest to combat smoking?

It is widely known that smoking is one of the most crucial problems of the twenty-first century. Some people consider that the government should make smoking illegal to reduce a number of deaths and diseases which are caused by cigarette consumption. In my opinion, it is too radical solution, and there may be other ways to deal with it. So, in this essay I am going to provide some possible solutions and prove them by several arguments. To begin with, it is necessary to understand that refusing from cigarettes is a long and difficult process, some people spend a lot of years on this. Therefore, if smoking becomes illegal immediately, it will lead to the significant outrage among humans. In my way of thinking, there are needed more slight changes, for instance, if the government includes additional taxes on the each sold package, it will decrease the demand and reduce the number of smoking people, because it will too expensive for some part of society. There is not only financial way which can be used to deal with this issue. In also may be done by making the smoking process less comfortable. For example, if there would be a strict law that prohibits use the cigarettes in the majority of public places, such as streets, bus and train stations, taxes, some buildings and others, smokers will not have an opportunity to smoke and will refuse from this harmful habit. In conclusion, I would like to say that there a lot of different ways how we can deal with the smoking problem. It also should be noticed that the solution does not have to be fast and radical such as making cigarettes illegal, instead of this the governments may just add the additional taxes or reduce the number of places where people can smoke.