Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

The young generations tend to follow what their peers in the same generation are keen on. Some people insist that this trend is meaningful, while others claim that it has a detrimental impact. From my perspective, this tendency would cause more serious problems, even though it can bring some benefits. On the one hand, this trend among the young in question would be beneficial in some aspects. The major merit is that adolescents can learn how crucial it is to get along with others. If they can be harmonious with their classmates by imitating their behaviors, they can lead a stable school life. Additionally, peer pressure may offer immature people with golden opportunities to comprehend social norms or common sense which is shared in a community. If they lack the knowledge of those concepts, they may have difficulty in building a close relationship with their peers. On the other hand, there are some plausible reasons why the downsides of this situation should be more focused on. The first reason is that it would not realize a sustainable society, which usually requires diversity. Since peer pressure means to reject something different or unique, it may not contribute to a diverse world. Furthermore, only accepting a limited number of values in younger generations will cause bullying among them. For instance, when some students are incredibly unique and prefer to wear bizzare clothing, others, as the majority, laugh at and insult them, just because they are different in outfits. In conclusion, it is not unusual that teenagers are likely to keep up with the preference which their friends have. In my view, however, this tendency would be harmful in spite of its upsides, because it is not linked with diversity which is pursued by many countries, and it can occur bullying in the generation.