For a long time art has been considered an essential part of all cultures in the world. However, nowadays people’s values have changed, and we tend to consider science, technology and business more important than arts. What do you think are the causes of this? What can be done to draw people’s attention to art?

Nowadays, people primarily pay attention to business, technological and scientific advancement rather than to visual or performing art due to the modernizing of human values. I am inclined to believe that such a situation is caused by capitalistic progress, undermining the significance of global cultural heritage. Therefore, this essay will explore some reasons associated with the concern and discuss possible solutions. When it comes to causes, firstly, the tendency to ruminate about the future incentivizes people to innovate more and appreciate functional items. Consequently, abstract art, which generally reflects the past and refers to emotions, does not make sense for society in comparison with figures, research and practical applications. Secondly, there is a lack of contemporary artistic masterpieces, because art turned into a commercially viable industry where people seek entertainment and profit but not a unique cultural identity. There are several possible ways to spur society to be inspired by art again. For instance, some galleries and theatres provide immersive exhibitions and performances, using cutting-edge technologies such as virtual reality or modern audio-visual effects. A blend of art and innovations creates an interactive format, resulting in an engagement of visitors and encouraging them to gain deeper insights into the piece of art. However, the most powerful solution could be a relaxation of censorship. If artists were inspired more by complex reality and liberally created socially and politically engaged art, the audience would be interested in any artistic media from traditional painting and sculpture to video, performing or installation. In conclusion, the representation of the beauty and history of human achievements is not a sufficient role for the art sector. To drive interest, art has to change according to the modern demand for multimedia formats and pressing issues.