Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about whether a competitive or cooperative mindset will make a young person more useful as an adult. While I understand that both views hold, I believe it is more important to encourage children to cooperate. Asking children to compete with each other can be beneficial. During the competition, students are aware of others’ progress, so they will be motivated more, and work harder, consequently progressing faster. Those young people will have a clearer goal in mind, so they would know what they want, and then fight for it. It is extremely helpful for achieving dreams in the adults world. The counterexample that can illustrate this point is, that a jobseeker who can’t walk out of his comfort zone and fight for an interview opportunity, is likely to be unemployed forever. However, personally, the advantage of guiding kids to work together is even more vital for adult life. For example, working as a group will force students to practice important interpersonal skills, like the skills of communication and teamwork, which are also helpful at work. Secondly, working as a team since little will help students know better which role they prefer to take in a team, whether it is the lead, or the implementer, the idea maker, and so forth. This can prepare them to work more efficiently when they step into the workforce, and more confidently. Finally, scientists found that all human beings are social creatures after all and it is in our blood to work together to achieve higher goals. Promoting the concept of prioritizing personal gain over the shared benefits can reduce a person into a selfish and irresponsible member of the society. In conclusion, a competitive spirit and cooperative mindset can both help develop a young student, but I would argue that it is more crucial to prioritize working as a group.