Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefit the economies of developing countries. Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are generally harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

There are two points of view on the impact of multinational companies on developing countries. Some people argue that they bring disadvantages to the countries while some believe that it is beneficial. In my opinion, I think having these companies has strong benefits for developing countries. First of all, a typical multinational company is usually a very big corporation which has a huge number of employees. This leads to a large number of work opportunities opened to the local citizens, giving room for people to increase their financial situation. For instance, GoTo company, one of the leading technology companies in Indonesia has given more than thousands of people an opportunity to work. Based on recent data, GoTo contributes to almost 3% of Indonesia’s GDP, proving its strong support to the country. Second of all, the rise of multinational companies often leads to an acceleration of technology growth that is helpful to the natives. For example, after ride-hailing companies such as Grab and Gojek became popular in Indonesia, risk and security technology increased significantly. Research on face recognition, sound recognition and safe authentication features happened rapidly. These features end up not only being implemented in ride-hailing companies but also in other industries, including education and e-commerce. As an example, some schools and universities in Indonesia now utilize face recognition features to confirm attendance. In conclusion, I am well aware that a large corporation might harm the country. However, I do think that it brings more advantages that, if being monitored regularly, can outweigh its potential harm.