Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree.

Carbonated drinks have become extremely popular these days, which leads to detrimental impacts on people's health and well-being. Hence, there is an opinion that imposing higher prices on sugar beverages will deter consumers from purchasing them. I agree with this statement, as I think that if these drinks are expensive, individuals will focus more on other expenses and healthy alternatives. To begin with, increasing prices on carbonated beverages will lead to saving money for crucial expenses, such as school fees, electricity bills, food and entertainment. Moreover, in many countries, paying off the bills is getting more challenging due to inflation, especially for young families. This means that while having a range of belongings to pay for individuals simply will not be able to afford sugary products because of their high cost. For example, in 2023, in Russia, the rent prices increased by 6%, which made it almost impossible to purchase extra food and drink treats, as householders have to pay their bills. Additionally, if prices for carbonated beverages are increased, manufacturers will have to find alternatives to these drinks, so they will keep being popular among customers and eventually avoid bankruptcy. This will motivate companies to produce healthier drinks with less sugar and promote them. Accordingly, no sugary drinks intake leads to better health conditions and mitigates the issue of obesity. For instance, in the UK, the levy of a tax on drinks, such as Coca-Cola and 7up, has already been imposed to tackle the problem of obesity and blood pressure. In conclusion, there is no doubt that imposing higher prices on carbonated drink products prevents individuals from buying them. Higher prices on these drinks will encourage companies to find healthier drink alternatives which will mitigate the problems of serious diseases improving people's health and lifestyles.