Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Lately, a lot more people have been interested in exploring regions such as the Sahara Desert or the Antarctic, where the environmental conditions aren't ideal. Just like how there are two sides to a coin, visiting such places has its own advantages and disadvantages. One such advantage is that tourists get to experience the environment and the natural habitats, while the disadvantage is that, such extreme conditions could take a toll on their physical health. On the one hand, tourists can get first-hand experiences learning about the local habitat and environment. No matter what they read in books or gain knowledge from watching videos, experiencing it in person is completely different. Moreover, they could interact with the locals and learn more about their culture. For example, a lot more people are going to the Sahara Desert to ride their camels, which is an activity predominantly found in that particular region and nowhere else. On the other hand, not many people have the capabilities to adapt to extreme conditions. This is because their body would not be able to cope with the drastic climate changes. Hence, they fall ill. In extreme cases, it could also result in death. For instance, when 10 people visited the Antarctic in 2011, 5 tourists experienced cardiac arrests due to blood clots that travelled to the heart. Importantly, the blood clots were caused by the extremely cold climate that they were exposed to. In conclusion, although being adventurous can be good in terms of experiencing different cultures and habitats, it can also lead to health problems. Tourists must know if their body is capable of adapting to extreme climate before taking further steps in planning their trip. If not, they must prioritize their body over fun trips.