People spend large amounts of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and make up to change their appearance. Is it important for people to be concerned about the way they look? What are the consequences of focussing on physical appearance? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's modern world, individuals are always concerned about their looks and it consumes a lot of time. Many people try to alter their appearances because they want to be confident and there is this inherent need for recognition that drives them to even use their finances, so they can look a certain way. Maintaining your appearance is really important and society focuses a lot and puts lots of effort and thought when they are dressing. Furthermore, it is really vital that a person dresses accordingly to a certain occasion. For instance, everyone out there wants to appear prim and proper while appearing in an interview. Wearing formal is the norm, and along with that, it gives an impression of a neat and tidy appearance. Although, it is necessary that people should care about themselves worrying too much about their appearance might be detrimental to the individual's mental health. Someone who worries about looks all the time will eventually lose confidence and he or she will not be content. Consequently, the individuals might start depreciating and undermining themselves, eventually finding themselves in a perpetual loop of comparison with others. One example is social media platforms and influencers which affect the youth's perception of beauty, as they try to create a perfect image along with setting unrealistic beauty standards which can have a negative impact on adults and the young generation. People spend a fortune to alter their looks trying to mould themselves according to a certain beauty standard. To summarize it succinctly, society today cares about appearance and there are certain events where people should dress appropriately and accordingly. Albeit, focusing all your time and attention on your persona can have a negative effect on your mental well-being.