Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, more and more people are said to have inclination towards different ways of treatment rather than visiting a therapist, and follow his prescriptions. This essay will argue how different are the conditions regarding this issue from both negative and positive view points. Considering a type of an illness, measures that are taken are varied, and there is no need of a specialist to cure an ill person with less serious disease. A person suffering from a temporary backache, for example, can find his treatment in medications available, such as ointment in drugstores. Moreover, it creates less crowded clinics and hospitals which are more suitable for more severe illnesses that are in need of urgent services. When a person who catches cold consumes herbal tea as well as acquires less physical activity, provides an opportunity for doctors in the clinics or health centers putting their time and energy to service other important patients. However, the case is not the same in all occasion. The more serious the illness, the more in need of visiting a specialist. Those who have cancer or cardiovascular illnesses should take this matter into account, and visit their doctor regularly. Not only does it provide them with a better way of treatment based on science and technology, such as specific facilities and equipment (radio therapy and injection) available only in hospitals, but it can also give them a chance of communicating with those who are in the same situation, and gaining experience. Thus, it is imperative for some occasions to visit their therapist. To sum up, with regard to the case of illness, we can decide whether it is a preferable action to visit a doctor or not. To be cured by specific treatment methods is necessary in some serious issues, while in other occasions that are not that much hard, a person can rely on normal treatment available everywhere.