Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Peer pressure has evolved as a majority topic of a concern in modern society. While I accept that this phenomenon is advantageous in a few ways. I firmly believe that its drawbacks are significant. I agree that there are some benefits of peer pressure. The most obvious benefit is that peer pressure helps motivate young people to feel like they should try harder to become better. For example, in academic achievement, peer pressure makes young people realize they have to study harder and put in more effort to keep up with their peers. Without a sense of competition, it can be difficult to let the most brilliant and diligent students in a class shine. One more clear benefit to consider is that peers who are kind-hearted and optimistic can influence others to build these qualities in themselves. Peer pressure can encourage positive behaviors such as healthy habits, and volunteering. However, I am strongly of the opinion that the disadvantages of peer pressure are more significant. The primary negative of influenced by others is that peer pressure makes them feel isolated if they are incompetent and not on the same level as their friends around them. For example, if this happens in the classroom, students affected by this feeling will become mentally unstable, feeling scared, autistic, and unable to communicate with anyone. Futhermore, young people are drawn into age-inappropriate behaviours such as drinking alcohol and smoking and then dropping out of school, even taking drugs when they feel bored with life. In conclusion, peer pressure makes youth worse off. It is clear that these consequences are greater than the benefits of peer pressure, so young people need to be aware of its effects and ignore judge and the bad behaviours of others.