Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays there is an ongoing controversy about whether it is relevant to let students pick extra subjects in university. Many believe, that it is more vital to focus on getting qualifications and not distracting themselves. This essay will discuss supporting points for both sides of the conflict and present an opinion. First and foremost, it is essential to understand that it is really easy to lose interest and motivation when learning the same subjects repetitively. Moreover, taking extracurriculars or minors may even assist university students with their overall knowledge, and improve their resume. In other words, this helps to broaden the mindset of a future employee and be literate in more fields rather than in one chosen major. If learning additional discipline, for instance, scholars may discover a vast majority of new opportunities. On the other hand, when picking a major it is already important to know exactly your interests and future dream job. That is to say, it is fair that many think that it is simply a distraction and a waste of time. In, university people are focused on a particular field and taking extra subjects, to which one also will have to commit, could alter their academic performance. To give an example, it is absolutely unnecessary for medical students to take part in such a thing as it will only have a bad influence. Personally, I consider that if there is an opportunity that the university or college provides, it should not be mandatory. Therefore, the possibility of taking a minor should be provided, though only ones who are willing and eager to learn it will take them. To conclude, it is hard to say whether it is crucial to evolve in an extracurricular subject. Only because not everybody requires it, but, additionally, there are some who feel desire. Thus, it should be added as an option.