Increasing the price of petrol and gasoline is the best way to reduce pollution and traffic problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think may be effective?

Nowadays, pollution and traffic congestion issues have become increasingly huge as private cars are widely used. Hence, some people suggest that raising the rate of petrol and gasoline would be the most effective measure to address the problem. However, I disagree with that and other more feasible solutions should be taken into consideration as below. Raising the price of fuel is not an effective strategy to restrict the use of private cars, instead, it would just restrict in controlling the number of private cars in the long term. Furthermore, it would raise the living cost and bring inconvenience for people who need to commute by driving. Hence, it would trigger public anger and even evolve into a large-scale parade. In order to address the issue, the government should implement certain feasible measures. To be specific, cleaner and renewable fuels should be developed to cope with environmental deterioration. For example, new technologies are available to produce electric cars as an alternative to petrol-driven cars, so the government should give subsidies to encourage people to buy electric vehicles. Additionally, the government should prioritize developing public transport, such as subways and buses, which would be an affordable and accessible alternative for commuting people. For those who need to take a long journey, long-distance trains would be a better option. In conclusion, a simple rise in the price of petrol has little effect on dealing with the problems. Government investment should be allocated to construct and run an efficient system of public transport and environmental protection. However, only relying on the government is not enough, it is the responsibility of every member of society.