Nowadays in many countries, the proportion of the older population is higher than that of younger people. Is it a positive or negative development?

Tremendous shifts in society's structure take place in many countries as the number of aged people overwhelmed those who are young. In my opinion, there will be detrimental consequences in the realms of economy and public services such as healthcare and privileges which I will unfold in the next paragraphs. The most obvious and inevitable strike will be aimed at the revenues of the government due to the shortage of tax income. There is research which implies that in order to maintain persistent economic growth the ratio of working people should be up to 2 to 1. Otherwise, there is a great risk of depleting the budget and incline the whole nation towards the catastrophe. For example, some civilizations disappeared because of continuous wars that resulted in total annihilation of the nation. Another imminent outcome of imbalanced population, in the short term, is the inability to support and fulfil the assigned obligations by the governmental departments. In other words, a lack of both the healthcare professionals and equipment for committing complex operations will have disastrous outcomes. For instance, the shortage of funding and personal will lead to late or unanswered emergency calls which, in turn, will cause an increased mortality rate. The decreased pensions and privileges have to be considered as accelerating factors of the crisis. To conclude, rapid changes in the structure of society will, definitely, summon an unparalleled domino effect which can't be diminished by any known approach. In order to avoid this problem in future, the governments have to tackle the issue by accepting policies which encourage people to reproduce.