In many places, shopping is the leisure time activity for young adults. Why is it so? Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

These days, many young adults spend so much time on shopping and look at it as a hobby. There are many reasons why this is the case. Personally, I believe that this is a negative development and I will explain my reasons in the following paragraphs. In my viewpoint, one of the main reasons for this phenomenon is the variety of online advertisements which convince young adults to buy from them, which is a negative development. On the one hand, by purchasing a lot, people are wasting their money without noticing. Nowadays, it can be seen many online shops and because it is more convenient for people they spend so much more money on online shopping than before and somehow it is a leisure activity for them. To some extent, people are becoming poorer and making big companies richer. On the other hand, some people waste their money on things they don't need and this causes more damage to the environment. For instance, they see their friends bought something and they buy that stuff just to show them they are capable of purchasing everything they want. Consequently, this leads to waste so many non-recyclable materials which harms the environment. Last but not least, some people believe that by shopping excessively, they can increase their life quality and show others their life level is high. To conclude, the rise of shopping should be viewed as a negative development and must be controlled by the government in order to keep the environment a safer place.