Right now, private companies like SpaceX or Blue Origin can freely fly into space whenever they want. Governments should regulate and restrict space tourism to ensure safety and sustainability. Do you agree or disagree?

Modern technologies make the dream of escaping the Earth come true, some private companies, such as SpaceX or Blue Origin, provide the services of space tourism to the public nowadays. Whilst there are many advantages for giving those institutions freedom to continue to make progress in such fields, I am personally in favour of the regulations and restrictions from authorities to ensure the safety of passengers as well as preventing hazards derived from such activities. On the one hand, the opponents suggest that the involvement of governments could slow down the correlated development of space travelling since they need to explain and get permission for changes to be made. On top of that, space tourism requires a high level of professional knowledge and high technologies, and only a few companies are able to implement such tasks, instead of making generalized standards, it is better for governments to communicate with them directly. On the other hand, from my perspective, it is crucial for governments to keep an eye on these private institutions, first of all, they need to follow the standardized rules for manufacturing spaceships equivalent to airline industries, as well as reveal necessary information to consumers. Secondly, the frequency of space travelling should be restricted since such activities could prompt negative effects on the environment, including extremely high heat created while launching spaceships, along with it, the emission of gas which could cause air pollution. To summarise, there are pros and cons provoked by the trend of space tourism, While some people are against the involvement of governments, I personally believe the rules and restrictions for those commercial institutions are crucial since such phenomena could lead to safety concerns for individuals as well as the drawbacks to the Earth.