Students are asked to work short time without pay as a part of their education. Is this more of an advantage or a disadvantage to student and company ?

Nowadays, there is a great demand for candidates with prior work experience, almost everywhere and for this sole reason several educational institutions involves internship programs in their curriculum. This essay will discuss the upsides and downsides of students working without salary for a small period of time in accordance with their educational institue. To begin with, it is really advantageous for the youth to work for sometime during their time in university in view of the fact that this offers them various benefits, such as hands-on work experience, networking opportunities and they get to familiarize themselves with the working environment. Students do not want to miss a chance which can boost their curriculum vitae and resume. For companies, it is a good opportunity to provide training periods from time to time as they might come across many promising candidates and they can offer them permanent positions. Moreover, it is a cheap labour for many firms as they are not obligated to pay salaries to students. Albeit, it can be disadvantageous due to the fact that work can become burdensome for students and they might feel overwhelmed, if they are unable to manage their time accordingly with their university's studies. Furthermore, in most scenarios students are not paid or they might get a meager salary compared to the work they have to deal with which can be quite tiresome. If corporations are running such schemes, then they have to establish dedicated wing for internship and this can cost them capital, labour and time. To conclude, there are several merits and demerits, when it comes to such apprenticeship programs. But it's benefits outweighs the disbenefits as candidates can get an exposure of working environment along with practical knowledge and companies might get to hire talented trainee and they don't want to loose that chance.