Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizen themselves?

In today’s world, industrialises countries such as America, Germany and England are amazingly wealthy while people in third world countries are suffering from poverty and many other related problems. So, it becomes a highly debatable issue whether it is the responsibility of governments of those poor nations to help their citizens or the rich countries should share their wealth and resources to them. It sounds reasonable that governments of poor nations are mainly responsible for improving the living status of their people. But for a country without any resources or investment, it would be very difficult to improve the economic status without any help from other rich nations. If wealthy nations share a certain portion of their wealth to the poor nations, it will be a great help to initiate new businesses and investment for a poor nation. Moreover, the basic needs of a country such as education and health can be filled up by donation of medicines and teaching materials. On the other hand, some people argue that sharing of wealth and donations of the basic needs to poor nations is not a real help. Because all these can easily be used up in a short time and no long term benefits might be expected. In addition, it is not sure that the financial support is going into investment for country’s business or it is lost in corruption, a common problem in developing and underdeveloped countries. So, they suggest that instead of material and monetary supply, wealthy nations should better help poor countries with technology and expert skills. For example, they should send the expert technician or professionals to developing countries to teach them advanced technology which can improve their business and lifestyle. Furthermore, young people from poor nations should be sponsored by prosperous nations for further educations. In short, a combination of technology and trained efficient young professionals can build up the long term economic status of the country. In summary, as it is impossible for the governments of poor nations to help the citizens on their own, any supply for short term or long run from the rich would be a very valuable help for them.