In the past when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? you should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Since the world started to be a more cosmopolitan place, young people began to study abroad rather than in their own country in order to exploit more opportunities. This essay will outline how the brain drain affects the economy and the work fields of a country, but also how this is a powerful chance for students. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, the essay will argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, one of the reasons why some people disagree with the statement is that when young students decide to study in a foreign country, it represents the failure of the education system of their homeland. Hence, in ten years the native country will have a lack of professionals who are crucial for the development of the economy, such as engineers and scientists. Furthermore, for instance, in my motherland Italy, this issue is a very topical problem and it led to the desperate quest of doctors. On the other hand, the opposite view asserts that studying abroad is a golden chance for pupils, who live in a country where all the education opportunities are not always guaranteed. Consequently, they should be entitled to travel and learn somewhere else as a means to obtain a better job and inhabit a city with desirable living conditions. In conclusion, taking all the points into consideration I believe that everyone should be able to follow their dream where they can be realized. Yet, the government must reflect on the brain drain problem and find solutions, such as improving the university environment and helping students to find their place in society with paid internships.