Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Some of the parents do not allow their children to get their own smart phones while the others argue that they are the vital methods for interaction. This essay is going to discuss how the behaviours of youth being affected by the cell phones but how they benefit communication. One of the major reasons why parents refuse to let teenagers get a cell phone is that teens may not be able to control themselves from stop using the phone. Many different types of information, like cooking, gaming and crafting can be found from the Internet. They can also access to different mobile games or social medial platforms. There are a lot of temptations in the cell phones, and thus young people may be addicted to it and not able to stop themselves from using it. This has been confirmed by a survey in US which reveals that the majority of children spend over 6 hours a day for using smart phones. In order to prevent children become addicted to them, some parents refuse letting teenagers to get phones. On the other hand, some parents believe that teenagers should own a phone since it can help fostering the relationship of the children with the others. Many different platforms like Whatsapp and Instagram are available on the phone for people to interact with the others. If the teens face any problem, they can let their parents know immediately through the phones and to prevent accidents. They can also communicate with someone overseas. A survey in the Britain demonstrates that during the Covid-19, many families choose to use Zoom or Facetime to communicate. Cell phones can therefore help people to interact with the others easily and to maintain relationship with someone overseas. To conclude, it can be noticed that there are some drawbacks like addiction problem on letting a child own a phone. However, I believe it is better for them to get one as it is a fundamental tool for interaction these days. If the teens can control themselves to stop using their phones by setting time limits, phones will become a useful tool.