Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to an advancement in the transport sector, edible items from every corner of the world are getting transported to customers. However, a large part of the society believes that native food consumption is good for nature as well as the finances of the locality. In my perspective, if people only use locally grown fresh fruits and vegetables then it will not only reduce the polluting factors associated with the long transport but also minimise the cost of purchasing items to eat. Additionally, nearby veggies are always well-suited for every human being. Firstly, the consumable things that travel thousands of miles from the manufacturer to their consumers, always come with an extra cost related to transportation which makes it costlier than other regional edibles. Moreover, vehicles distributing it, preservatives keeping it fresh and refrigeration storing it generally harm the environment badly with many polluting factors. As a result, costly and less eco-friendly food creates financial as well as environmental issues. For instance, highly-priced blueberries are from non-native fruits in India, and they require persistent cooling which could be harmful to greenhouse gases. Secondly, Locally produced items such as fruits or vegetables are good for everyone because they do not need any preservation or a long travel. Furthermore, such fresh food boosts the immunity of an individual as well as the economy of the region. Admittedly, farmers from the area will get more money if everyone decides to eat only local farm produce and consequently, this is going to help the government in terms of financial stability. For example, Bhutan, a South Asian country, has implemented a policy to promote locally grown products and we have seen good progressive development in the farming sector over a decade. Finally, although exotic foreign edibles look tasty and nice to have, it is associated with a negative environmental impact and additional cost. Instead, people should eat local farming products which will considerably help the local businesses as well as the health of the locals.