Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or an organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is obvious that there is a shift in working patterns when people decide to employ themselves instead of working in a corporate environment. I will dive deeply into the reasons behind this trend and discuss some disadvantages along the way. It is undeniable that people choose to be self-employed for some compelling reasons. First of all, the fundamental reason for this tendency is a heavy workload, which is assumed to cause stress among blue collars. Having been working from 9 to 5, some people find very overwhelmed because there is still so much work that needs to be done. In comparison with freelance, they tend to control the amount of work at their own discretion. Another factor worth mentioning is that the toxic working environment is commonly attributed to causing workers to quit their jobs. Gossip colleagues or overdemanding bosses, for instance, hardly contribute to a supportive or positive workplace culture, which has an adverse on employees’ mental health. This pales in comparison with being self-employed when workers can choose the work environment that boosts their productivity while being mentally healthy. However, working as a freelancer has been disadvantageous to some extent. The first and foremost disadvantage could be that they have less long-lasting relationships with colleagues and bosses, who might become their friends in life outside of work. In fact, freelancers tend to work on one-time projects so that there unlikely to form any close-knit ties with co-workers or leaders. As such, their network becomes more and more narrower, which is not conducive to their career. Furthermore, their collaborative skills might inevitably weaken. As most freelancers work online or remotely, they are deprived of face-to-face communication with co-workers, which leads to misleading information exchange in some cases. In conclusion, while people lean towards being self-employed for some valid reasons, they should take into account its demerits as to this decision.