When designing buildings people should consider the intended use rather than appearance. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the society tends to burn a fortune when it comes to designing their ideal home or office. It is argued that, when planning the outlay of buildings, regardless of the looks, people should focus on the utilitarian aspect, which I do agree with. The construction of a building should be in accordance with the intended purpose, due to the fact that it will increase the efficiency and feasibility. For instance, while preparing the blueprint for a school, the focus should be on the layout which provides the maximum utilization of the space as a well as greater movability for the children. On the other hand, if we focus more on the appearance rather than the usability it might create problems in future. For example, constructing a swimming pool in the centre of a school campus just for the sake of appearance can be dangerous for the children. Although, the outer looks provide attractiveness to the space or an establishment it might become hindrance and uneccessary addition. To conclude, there are conflicting views on whether mein should be considered or usage. Given that the society is more inclined towards the outer appearance it is of paramount importance to acknowledge the drawbacks of not taking the utilization into the account.