In many countries today, parents are able to choose to send their children to single-sex schools or co-educational schools. Some people think that children going to single-sex schools have disadvantages later in life.

It is claimed by many parents that they believe their child would be better off going to a single-sex school than a mixed centre of learning. I strongly disagree with this statement and this essay will detail the reasons why. Despite the fact that more and more countries around the world are adding to their education system separate academies for boys and girls, I believe that this approach is not effective when we speak about modern life and teenagers. This is because kids have to learn to live in a society where both genders are present. It is extremely important that these foundations are laid in childhood. For instance, my mom went to such an educational institution. As a result, she had to face some difficulties later on. This manifested in unability to chat with the opposite gender, that is why she lost a lot of time in her youth. If she had gone in usual school, she would have had more life expirience. Another drawback is that not all girls, for example, like to socialize with each other. By way of illustration, not all girls have something in common with each other, likewise, it would be more comfortable for a youngster to communicate with the opposite sex. I also believe that these colleges are relics of the past, where men and women studied separately. It is no longer relevant today. In conclusion, I want to say that it is wrong that some parents send their offspring to single-sex schools. In the future, when they grow up, they will have to live in a society where both genders are present. In the long run, difficulties may arise.