Plactic bags, pastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve thisproblem?

Plastics harms environment due to its non-degradable nature. The consumption of plastic has been increased over the years, with the change of human lifestyle. However, the Scientists believe plastic is a fantastic material which could be used for many developments, if the disposal mechanism is well defined. In the present context, plastic is mainly used as a material to produce bags, bottles and packaging. The main adverse effect from plastic is environmental pollution and health issues to human-being. To minimise these adverse consequences, both the government and individuals hold a greater responsibility. Firstly, looking into the adverse effects to the nature, it is possible to consider the manufacturing process of plastic. This causes generation of fumes, which pollutes air. Also, some plastic containers are specified for single use, this creates generation of non-degradable waste in bigger volumes. Specially, plastic packaging and plastic bottles falls into this category. The plastic waste dumping on different sites leads to soil pollution and water pollution. Secondly, plastic substances, waste and irregular dumping of plastic has resulted many critical illneses illness such and cancers. Further, this leads to increase of mosquito breeding, causing many related diseases. Finaly, to mitigate these issues govenments government should develop new laws addressing these irregular practices, and develop a clear mechanism to monitor compliance. This is mainly to encourage recycling of plastic to minimise waste, and to have proper controls in the manufacturing process.For an example, in Sri Lanka the Environmental Authority ctitically evaluates factory processes to minimise adverse effect to environment. As citizens of a country, each individual shall dispose their plastic waste in an environmentaly friendly manner. Futhermore, the usage of plastic needs to be minimised by moving towards more natural products and alternatives. For example, people can start using glass bottles instead plastic bottles, replacing packaging with recycled paper. In conclusion, plastic has become a harmful material due to irregular practices and significant increase in usage. This has caused environmental pollutiona and health issues for human life. To arrest these drawbacks, government and individuals has a greater role to play to ensure better tomorrow.