City dwellers seldom socialize with their neighbors today, and the sense of community has been lost. Why did this happen? And how can this be solved?

With the advancement of society, there is an adverse phenomenon that citizens in cities are not likely to socialize with their neighbours, and the sense of community has been lost. This essay will analyze the reasons from social cost and time, and also list resolutions. Firstly, the fact that the cost of offline socialization is higher than that of online making friends indicates that the public doesn’t like to make closer relationships with their neighbours. Take Facebook as an example, it is an online platform where individuals share their daily lives and post interesting stories, attracting those who have the same interests to come to them without any action. In comparison, when building friendships with people who live next door, knowing their habits is the first thing that we should do. Also, it is necessary to confirm when it is the best time to knock on the door and whether there is someone who is in the house, resulting in the time and energy for socializing cannot be ignored. Therefore, no one likes to get in touch with others. Secondly, it is undeniable that a busy lifestyle is one of the reasons why city dwellers keep themselves in their own space. To be more specific, the expensive cost of living in cities and the fiercely competitive working environment push human beings to spend more time working, leaving little for rest, let alone socializing, which is an activity requiring an amount of time and energy. In addition, the issue that the timetable cannot be matched among people also leads to distance. As a result, an increasing number of people keep themselves alone at home. In response to this issue, efforts from the government should be required. Primarily, more entertaining activities which most people are interested in should be held in communities in order to cut the wasting time on getting to know each other. Besides, it is essential for the government to take action to reduce the cost of living and to limit working hours daily. By making such efforts, the public may once again immerse themselves in the joy of making friends.