There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people suggest that school should remove academic-unrelated courses, so that students could focus on their studying and achieve academic success. However, I disagree with this idea. This is because there are many benefits for student to participate these non-academic subjects. Firstly, when taking part in non-academic curriculums, students have opportunities to explore their interests and develop their expertise for the future employment. For example, some individual might master cooking or sports, they could practice their skills in courses with teacher's professional guidance, and would have more chances to participate in competitions, and furthermore they might gain outstanding records on their resume. Second of all, school should be a place delivering knowledge for various youngsters, instead of restricting their thoughts and personal development. The reason is that everyone has different personalities and habits, they will find themselves in different subjects. On the other hand, academic performance is not the only consequence how we value a person, especially for young generation who are still finding their way. Besides, participating in interested activities and subjects could release their pressure by transferring their attention from academic work to other subjects, which would help them to feel relaxed and feel joyfulness. In conclusion, I do not agree with removing non-academic courses to let students only concentrate on academic work. This is because I believe that academic performance should not be the only thing the school and people care about. Besides, if so, it would restrict students to develop their talents and habits and they might find more stress at school, due to lacking time to be relax and enjoy.