WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Science research and the money it costs has always been a debated topic, especially when talking about space. While some people claim it is essential for the development of science and humankind, others consider it to be a waste of money. This essay will analyze both sides of the debate. To begin with, it is undeniable that space exploration is crucial for a proper understanding of nature and the world. For instance, if there had not been research in the past, many of the recent discoveries would not have been possible and society would not be as developed as it is right now. On the other hand, it is also understandable that a part of society considers that investing large amounts of money in space exploration is useless. Although it is true that governments should invest more money in things that would bring immediate benefits to society, the solution is not to stop investing in science. To conclude, it could be said that the importance of science research and exploration is a need if we want to keep a proper development of the world. Governments may should invest more money in other things to make the nations better, but it should not be by investing less money in science.