Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Many individuals have been working extended hours compromising on their spare time. This essay will evaluate the merits and de-merits of this routine life followed by an opinion. To begin with the merits, people work long hours to make sure that the work they are engaged in is completed to the expected level of proficiency. Thereby, creating an opportunity for career advancements within the workplace and a possibility for a higher salary increment. Secondly, working long hours in relation to performing different job tasks at workplace, gives the opportunity to gain additional work experience. Hence, increasing demand for an individual in the corporate world as they progress in their career. For an example: - An individual employed in the finance division may work extended hours in another department such as IT to gain additional experience, this experience would allow the individual to develop a career in FinTech, which is highly rewarding in terms of monetary. On the other hand, there is always an opportunity cost with this decision. In this case, it is mostly the lost of leisure time. Thus, people will not have adequate time to be with their loved ones. Furthermore, this road leads to a high level of stress and results in an increase level of sicknesses. For an instance: - A research report has shown that the life expectancy of a person is declining at a rapid rate because of the increased number of sicknesses that they are faced with. This is mainly a result of working long hours and not having an adequate amount of rest time. In conclusion, my opinion would be working long hours will have more advantages than disadvantages because earnings are a key factor in a person’s life journey. However, it is important to allocate enough time for rest and to do leisure activities as well.