Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for lesuire activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Many Individuals have been working extended hours to pursue their career aspirations, sacrificing their time available for engaging in leisure activities. This essay will elaborate about the merits and demerits of this decision on a routine day. An opinion would be substantiated at the end. To begin with the merits, there are many benefits associated with working long hours in relation to career growth and experience. First, working extended hours would allow a person to complete the task that they are engaged in, with the expected level of proficiency because of the availability of extra time. Moreover, working long hours in relation to performing different job tasks at workplace, gives the opportunity to gain additional work experience. Hence, increasing the demand for an individual in the corporate world as they progress in their career. For an example: - An individual gaining a diversified experience by working long hours in different departments such as IT and Finance, would help to develop a career in FinTech, this can be rewarding in terms of money. On the other hand, there is always an opportunity cost with this decision. Firstly, this will limit the time availability for an individual to spend with their family and loved ones. Thus, leading to a poor quality of life. Furthermore, this can impact an individual’s relationship with their loved ones. Secondly, having an unbalanced work-life would lead to many health complexities. Thereby, leading to a risk of loss of life. For an instance: - A research report has stated that there is a positive correlation between increased number of life-threatening diseases due to the limited time available for relaxation. In conclusion, it is important to have a proper work-life balance because health and freedom is a key element of life. Therefore, in my opinion the disadvantages outweigh the advantages in terms of working long hours compromising the availability of spare time.